Responsibility

Posted: November 9, 2010 in Blatant Self Promotion, Daily Weirdness, Healthy Eating, Healthy Living, Life, Ramblings

8x10 glossy's are $19.99 without an autograph....with an autograph the price jumps to $99.00 (thanks Erwin for takin the pic)

Today I am going to wander just ever so slightly off of the usual topics found here at 100poundsago…well not really that far….ok fine I am going to write about something totally in line with what you usually find here but in a different kind of way. 

Let’s talk about responsibility shall we?  We all know the word; it was probably introduced to you by your parents in the form of taking out the garbage or picking up dog poop in the yard.  You have to have it in your life right?  I mean responsibility essentially forces us to go to work, pick up the kids from school and pay the bills.  Its an inescapable fact of life for even the most foot loose and fancy free type of characters in the world have some form of responsibility, as much as it pains we “grindstone” folks, in the end its there.  Where am I going with this you ask?  Actually I don’t know I am hoping it will come to me sometime before I finish typing this sentence.  Yup!  There it is!  A little while ago I alluded ever so cleverly about something big that was going on around 100poundsago HQ.  Well here it is kids.  I have agreed to serve as the 2011 American Diabetes Michigan Tour de Cure Adult Advocate.   This was not without reservation and some serious soul type searching.  Right there the whole time the “R” word was whispering in my ear.  It whispered things like “You can make a difference to someone” and “you could be the spark one person needs to reverse the effects” So I acquiesce and agree with only two conditions….everyone has to salute me and refer to me by my official self appointed and self invented title of “The Most High Exalted Majestic Ambassadorship Gene” I didn’t think that was too much to ask do you?  As much as I hate being serious I feel I need to be serious about this all kidding aside.  Diabetes sucks I was able through some really hard work to stymie the effects of Type II in my own body and I am willing to do or say whatever I can to help others do the same.   

 Want to help me?  Find the 2011 Tour de Cure in your area, join a team, get on your bike…and ride.

Comments
  1. Jon says:

    OK, your Excellency. The ADA’s Healthy Living Ambassador (yours truly) will join your team. We’re doing the Century Ride, right?

    Jon

    • 100poundsago says:

      Jon,

      You need to come up with your own title that sounds a little more grand. The two of us riding together would possibly cause a security issue…I’m game if you are.

      Gene

  2. Ragnar says:

    My view is that we need to get the people with diabetes to ride the bikes, since you can ride all the miles you can to help people, but in the end they must change their lives. I know this, and have done what you did. I made radical changes in my lifestyle to cut fat, exercise my heart, and get rid of all of the symptoms of my bad lifestyle. For most people, Diabetes Type II can be avoided or reversed without medication. They need to get on the bike.

    • 100poundsago says:

      Ragnar,

      I agree with you 100% I was talking more of the research and financial support that Tour de Cure provides. The whole get off of your butt and get on your stinkin bike is coming very soon.

      Gene

  3. Marla says:

    Wow! That is such an honor! You will be most awesome. And I always think of you as “The Most High Exalted Majestic Ambassadorship Gene” anyway.

Leave a Reply

