Frozen Ipods

Did you know I am obsessed with Punk music? I will bet you didn’t know that, well now you know. With that being said did you also know I ride with headphones….ALL THE TIME. No exceptions, no variances from this practice, never ever, never. Part of the reason I ride with music is the sound of my breathing annoys me to no end, I know what your thinking “This dude just gets weirder by the hour” I assure you it’s the truth. Now I have been rocking along with the same Ipod I have owned for a few years now, the classic 30g and let me tell you it is packed full with serious punk music. Bands like Black Flag, Minor Threat, Suicidal Tendencies, The Clash, Rollins Band, Misfits, Danzig, Social Distortion, Gwar, Rancid, The Ramones, etc etc. There is a pre ride ritual I go through, headphones…check, proper selection for the mood of the day….check, volume…check, off we go. So, yesterday I am riding I plan on a fast paced 24 mile jaunt, its about 31 degrees slight wind. I have on my new shoes feet are warm, head is warm, life is good….until I get to mile 7. Now mile 7 I am feeling good, legs are feeling good, average speed is up, the sun is out and the birds (at least the ones that have not migrated south) are chirping. Then it happens, sudden silence in my ears….I can hear my own breathing and it isn’t pretty. I stop and fish out the trusty Ipod from my chest pocket…blankness. Now I know for a fact the battery was all charged up leaving one possible explanation for this malfunction, it’s frozen. Yes folks the classic Ipods can indeed freeze and mine froze leaving me many more miles to go in silence. Since I did not fancy shoving the hunk of cold metal and plastic down my pants to warm it up I suffered without it. I can see this is going to be a problem in the upcoming months so I have devised a fiendishly clever way to keep my Ipod from freezing that I will be testing on today’s ride. If it works I plan on a patent and will post the pics of my fiendishly clever invention tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Frozen Ipods

  1. Yep, I too MUST ride with an iPod, especially when commuting to/from work. I too have experienced the frozen iPod phenomenon.

    Solution, keep it in your back jersey pocket and out of the wind.

    Also, I’ve found that if the battery is at all old or doesn’t hold a charge for long, it will freeze in the lower temps quicker.

    Best place I’ve found for new iPod batteries (just replaced my 30G and 4G mini) is http://www.ipodjuice.com/

Leave a comment